Jules in real life… almost

Let me give you a bit of an overview of my life the past few years. I won’t go into too many details or name names for now, but as the postings keep coming I’ll start elaborating more.


January to May 2009: College was fun. I was soaking up my college life and enjoying my last few months of freedom more than anyone I knew. I thought college would be the best four years of my life and they really were… well until I moved to Dubai, but I’ll tell you more about that later.
May 2009: I graduated from The University of Texas at Austin after studying Economics and Business Administration for 4 years. Diploma check. Job uncheck.
July 2009: My graduation gift from my parents was a trip anywhere in the world. Being a young girl from Texas, I never really got out much and trust me when I say that. I had never even been to NYC, Chicago or DC and still haven’t been today. In the end, I decided to take a mini Euro trip where I visited Barcelona, Madrid and Paris. While traveling the beautiful city of Paris, I had a phone interview for a job in Dubai. I was excited by the city and the thought of a potential job.
September 2009: Got a job offer and was asked to relocate to Dubai in the United Arab Emirates at the end of the month. Had my Dubai-bye parties, said my farewells and flew to the Middle East.
August 2009: Needed to find an apartment! Thanks to the creators of Dubizzle.com, I found an apartment  (flat, as they call it here) on the 37th floor of Bahar 5 in Jumeriah Beach Residence where I lived with 6 amazing people. 3 guys and 1 girl from the UK, 1 guy from Pakistan and another guy from Germany. The landlord owned 6 different flats at the top of this building where I was able to make more friends and party just as much as college. Life was great in this new city.
October – December 2009: Work. Parties. Friends. Exploring new places. I was happy. At times I got sad – I missed home. I laughed. I cried. I complained. All normal emotions for a single girl in a new country. At one point I considered moving home, but I pulled it all together. One thing to be said – the experience would have never been the same without my flatmates. My best friend in Dubai was one of my flatmates. He was an entertainment journalist – and let me add, journalists have nice perks! During those months he invited me to all the hottest parties in town with all the drinks I could ask for, free tickets to comedy shows, free gifts, free concerts, VIP this and VIP that. We were honestly living it up.Let me add one thing, all you can drink Christmas brunches are the best and bringing in the new year with Rihanna was one hell of a way to end 2009!
January 2010: I made more and more friends, but these certain friends I made that month became like family to me. The most generous and caring people I had ever met in my life. I loved them from the start and the friendship/familyship just grew from there. Oh and how could I forget to mention, I met a boy. We were introduced at a house party, went on dates and the relationship quickly grew from there.
March 2010: Hello, Ogilvy PR. I was offered a new job at Ogilvy & Mather Public Relations where I became the Account Executive for the Technology Team. I managed Samsung and in a few months I began managing Yahoo! Maktoob – more positive changes in my career.
April – May 2010: I became an aunt! My brother and sister-in-law had a beautiful boy named Luke Slater Nguyen. He was born on April 28th at 7.55 PM – 8lbs 14 oz , 20 inches. I still have yet to meet him.During those months, my main focus became work. I helped manage sponsorships with Dubai Fashion Week, Samsung’s 3D TV press conferences, worked on press releases, managed coverage reports and soaked up the work experience. PR isn’t as fabulous as it sounds- it’s constant hard, demanding work, but I loved it and still love every part of my job today.
June 2010:  I leave the UAE for the first time. My boyfriend, my two closest friends and I planned a trip and jetted off to Koh Samui, Thailand. A vacation we all needed to take a mental break from work and Dubai. A relaxing filled holiday with plenty of street shopping, inexpensive but exquisite Thai dishes and elephant trekking.
September 2010:  My one year anniversary in Dubai. I celebrated with a camel – the animal with humps, not a cigarette.
October 2010: And so here we are, I’m off to Jordan tomorrow to attend a wedding at the Movenpick Dead Sea. Stay posted for updates about my trip next week.

4 Comments

  1. I know all this stuff but still, when I read it, your life sounds FABULOUS. this blog was such a good idea and I can’t wait for more!!!
    PS your Dubai-bye party will never stop cracking me up. I couldn’t think of anything as clever with London!

Leave a Reply

