Namaste, London

Fyi, white people (ie, all my friends), this is the name of a [terrible] Hindi movie, I’m not just random.

After Dallas, my week consisted of shopping spree-ing with Mummy, saying bye to Lauren, Amelia, and Ms. Cheryl, and just being with Mummy, Papa, and Meg. Oh yeah and this is how Eric and I said goodbye:

 

It was appropriate.

 

So. To complete that last post (“Pre”), two years=not quick. And five months between finding out I got the job and getting a start date/starting the visa process? Not easy. But worth it. And I can’t really complain because the in-between time was full and fun. But then visa –> ticket –>here now was ridiculously fast. My passport came back last Thursday, the 7th, and I texted Papa at work to let him know:

 

Awwwww! Love this text.

 

After a lot of packing and re-packing and packing and re-packing and unpacking both at home and at the airport, I checked in with two bags at exactly 50.0 pounds each. Once I waved my last goodbye to MPMeg (Meg is carrying all the things I had to take out to get to 50 pounds a pop..)

after collecting all my stuff at security and started walking toward my gate, I did start freaking out and hyperventilating for a minute.

So when I checked in the night before, I changed my seat to a window one even though I don’t usually care about that, just so I could see London as I flew in. I got gypped. This was my window seat:

Also fyi, the recorded lady voice on the Boeing 777 makes you feel like you’re on a spaceship.

Hey! Check out my new playground!

OK. I am without internet. AGAIN. Rishma is right. I should have expected it. It happened on my first days in Oz and Paree too. And Eric’s right too. Technology hates meeeee.

Today was kinda poo. So I thought I was all fancy and being picked up in a car at the airport, complete with my name on a placard, right? Wrong. My flight landed early, and my bags came through no probs – awesome. But then I go out and there’s no one there with my name. And I remembered that they said a time half an hour after my arrival to leave time for border control and customs, but even so – nada. So I waited. And waited. And then called Sarah. She called Ailie for me and they said someone was on the way. Finally, I got tired of waiting and took a taxi (I like the old-timey hearse look of the taxis here). An EIGHTY POUND TAXI RIDE. And of course the policeman stops the traffic right at us so we’re the first car in front of a procession of some fancy looking red carriages going into Buckingham Palace. I wish I could end this story with, ‘so yeah, I saw Queen E and the princes and they welcomed me to London today,’ but instead, I have no idea who those people who think they’re so important were. And apparently there’s lunch traffic here, so that was cool. My taxi driver told me I could start waving to people too.

So I finally got to my apartment at 12:45pm or so and there’s no front desk and no one with my key. AHHHHHHHHHHH. I pulled out my computer and phone trying to get wifi to check my email to see if I’d missed something and after a while (of failing), this girl comes up to me and says ‘oh sorry have you been waiting long?’ She brought me up to my room and told me all about everything. And also that the hot water didn’t seem to be heating so she had already called someone. Perfect. I finally called home at around 7:15am, 4 hours after I was supposed to. Then I tried to get internet, but of course that didn’t work either. I’m not mad anymore, I guess it’s funny. And at least things will just get better! I called Sarah again and we chatted about apartments and settling in. I left around 3pm for 1st Contact to pick up my Kickstart packet before my 4pm HSBC appointment to set up a bank account. I’d kept hearing about what a pain it is to set up a bank account here, but 1st Contact made it ridiculously easy. I picked up the packet and then headed straight off to HSBC where it only took about half an hour, a lot of which was spent looking for my office’s post code (these post codes are like license plates, it’s nuts). I’d definitely recommend it to any of you planning to join me here soon (coughvershcough).

Check out my walk to 1st contact!

 

(I don’t know why this tower looks leany)

 

No rain, no cold, it was a beautiful day. Felt weird wearing a t-shirt when everyone around me was in coats though. Something was very wrong. I must have adrenaline still rushing through me because it’s 50F, and I’m fine! Also, I took the tube around like a PRO. And! I think I might be able to use my iphone! YAYYYYY. But I asked a dude how much the 4 was and he said ~£450. WHAT. No. I will stick by my handy, loyal [4th] 3G, thank you.

Rando: also check out my sweet domestic abuse mark:

 

Unfortunately, it is not from Djoko. Just paintball.

 

London also welcomed me with these:

High heels on the front page and Texicans at Burger King. What more could I ask for?

Now I’m back at my sweet pad but still without internet. Hello, Microsoft Word.

Until next Monday, adieu.

PS Thanks so much to Becca, Jake, Vik and Arun, and Versh for calling. It was really sweet and meant a lot to me.

And one more song:

Karishma sent me an amazing email, and it included this song and these lyrics, with her edits in purple:

Woke up in London yesterday (That’s you! You did that!)
Found myself in the city near Piccadilly
Don’t really know how I got here
I got some pictures on my phone (I’m sure if you were using Ivan that this would be true)

New names and numbers that I don’t know
Address to places like Abbey Road
Day turns to night, night turns to whatever we want
We’re young enough to say

Oh this has gotta be the good life (good?? your life is going to be the awesome life)
This has gotta be the good life
This could really be a good life, good life

Say oh, got this feeling that you can’t fight
Like this city is on fire tonight
This could really be a good life
A good, good life

To my friends in New York, I say hello (That’s me! and versheroo)
My friends in L.A. they don’t know
Where I’ve been for the past few years or so
Paris to China to Col-or-ado

Sometimes there’s airplanes I can’t jump out
Sometimes there’s bullshit that don’t work now
We are god of stories but please tell me-e-e-e
What there is to complain about (nothing!)

When you’re happy like a fool (please be)
Let it take you over
When everything is out
You gotta take it in

I’m obsessed with the song now. She’s kind of amazing. Love you saseeeeeee!

Leave a Reply

