I hear the (ethical) secrets that you keep, when you’re talking in your sleep…

My day to blog is Tuesday, so my apologies for missing my day. Let me lay it down for you. I have five weeks left in my first semester of grad school. In these five weeks I have TEN PAPERS to write and TWO PRESENTATIONS to give. These aren’t dinky papers, people. These are paper papers…. If that makes any sense. The presentations should be fine, although I have no idea what I’m supposed to be presenting on.

My cousin Meg!

Halloween was an amazing time. I got to see family, friends, bad costumes. It was glorious. The bus ride home on Monday was fine too, except in a moment of stupidity I decided it was more important to watch Pirates of the Caribbean than work on my Ethics midterm which was due Wednesday.

Kevin, Naty, Pat and myself...

So picture this as the assignment: 11 scenarios, decide whether the interaction between a counselor and client in each scenario is ethical or unethical. For example: scenario 6: A woman who has recently stated working at a new job is feeling a lot of anxiety because she is the only female in her position and she feels that she is treated differently than other employees and given more work. The counselor tells the client that she has “penis envy” and that she needs to work through her fear of interacting with males so that she will be able to get married and have a baby, thus fulfilling herself as a woman. Is this interaction ethical or unethical? Write a full page double spaced for the response.

So by the time Tuesday night rolled around I was up to my eyes in the American Psychological Association’s ethics code picking apart these fake interactions and writing full page responses for each. It was 1AM when I finished and 2AM before I went to bed. Of course Wednesday is the longest day of my week so the alarm went off at 6AM without fail. I didn’t sleep well. I kept dreaming about having conversations with different people and then having to rate them as either ethical or unethical. Pat told me later that when he came to bed that I was talking in my sleep. I went to class at 8AM and found out that my midterm wasn’t due in class that day like I thought it was. Oh no. It wasn’t due until midnight on Wednesday! Fabulous. It would be funnier except this is the second time this semester that I have worked all night to find out that the assignment wasn’t due until midnight the next day.

By the time I was out of class on Wednesday and had gotten home it was 5PM and I looked like I could have been a zombie on the new AMC show The Walking Dead. I sat down on the floor to eat Chipotle and woke up an hour and a half later. I made the decision then and there not to do anything else for the rest of the night, and that’s just what I did. Well, I mean I watched the Blue Ray copy of Glee Pats mom snuck in Pats bag for me to borrow. Other than that, I didn’t move at all. This is what us psychology geeks would call “self care.” I hardly ever just lay in one spot but I needed the rest. I went to bed at 11:30PM and didn’t wake up until my alarm went off at 7:30AM this morning. THAT is how I know I was exhausted.

Really weird things happen to me when I’m super stressed out so the self care night was essential. This summer I was very stressed out right before we moved to Chicago. I was trying to pack the apartment up, quitting my job, getting back into the settle of school, and trying to imagine being a city girl. One day in late July I had worked all day and packed the apartment all evening. I went to bed freaking out about getting everything done… and that’s when I had the weirdest sleep walking experience I’ve ever had.

I’ve walked in my sleep before. When I was young I use to sleep with a shower cap on (don’t ask) and I would wake up in the middle of the night and the cap would be gone. I would turn on the light and find it in the hall. Once I went to the dish washer, opened it, and told my cousin Emu and Aunt Linda that we were out of milk. One time I walked to the top of the stairs and told my mom that the old lady had my red shoes. Who knows? Maybe I should stop taking so many hallucinogens.

The weirdest sleep walking experience I have had was this… I went to bed, and the next thing I know I’m standing in my bedroom with the light on and tears are streaming down my face. I had no idea what was going on. Pat looked at me and said “What are you doing?” I heard myself respond but I had no idea what it meant. I was sobbing and I said very sternly to Pat “WHY WONT ANYONE HELP ME FIND MY PANTS?” Sure enough, I didn’t have any pants on and was just standing there crying. After I had responded to Pat I fully woke up. Pat explained to me that he had just come to bed, that I had gotten out of the bed and gone into the closet (where I had removed my pants), had gotten back into bed minus the pants, had gotten back up and been walking around the apartment, came back into the bedroom turned on the light, and that’s when he asked me what I was doing. Apparently I was really disgusted with the lack of assistance I was receiving toward finding my drawls.

Because of this experience I do not feel bad about being late to blog or for doing nothing last night. I live on the 6th floor of a building now! Sleep walking is more dangerous than ever before!

My fellow Adlerian stress balls...

Hopefully the semester won’t make me crazy to the point of stripping in my closet again, but if it does I’ll be sure to write about it! x0

Leave a Reply

